Cooking Up A Competition! Voyage De Gourmet Is Now Available!

Friendship is the spice of life! Voyage de Gourmet, an original graphic novel from writer Paul Tobin, Illustrated by Jem Milton, and lettered by Micah Myers is now available at your favorite local comic shop and book store!

Former BFFs Jiang-Mi and Layne have lofty culinary dreams, but after an embarrassing video becomes the talk of the school, the two go their separate ways. When Jiang-Mi lands a coveted spot on the reality TV show Voyage de Gourmet–a globetrotting culinary competition–she has to take Layne as her partner. While traveling the globe and cooking their hearts out, the two must come together to best some of the top chefs in the world. Will this cooking competition relight the fire in their friendship–or will they find their recipe simply not worth the effort?

VOYAGE DE GOURMET (OGN)
Writer: Paul Tobin – Illustrator: Jem Milton – Letterer: Micah Myers
Release Date: December 12th, 2023

Synopsis: Layne Green is a social media sensation of a cook. He’s selected to compete on a reality TV show called Voyage de Gourmet – a globe-trotting foodie adventure. However, his partner is his former best friend, Jiang-Mi Pipper, someone that he really wronged with some of his posts. Can the two find forgiveness, flavor, and themselves on this journey?

Meet the Creators!

Paul Tobin, Writer
Paul Tobin is a New York Times-bestselling author. His writing includes Bandette; Colder; and many other comic books, graphic series and works of fiction. ‘Bandette,’ drawn by Colleen Coover, was awarded the Eisner Award for Best Digital Series in 2013; again in 2016; and was a finalist for the Oregon Book Award for Graphic Literature in 2016. Paul’s graphic novel ‘I Was the Cat,’ created with artist Benjamin Dewey, was nominated for an Eisner in 2015.

“Writing Voyage de Gourmet set me off on my own journey! I’ve always been fascinated by both food, and by characters, and this was a chance to truly combine the two. And the thing I most learned is that food–like relationships–is both universal, and very personal. There’s a whole world of culture out there. Go taste it!” –Paul Tobin

Jem Milton, Illustrator
Jem Milton is a non-binary artist based in Glasgow. Originally from Gloucestershire, they attended Central St Martins in London before training with Scriberia Ltd, where they worked until 2017, before moving to Scotland to pursue a career as a freelance illustrator.
Jem makes illustrations, comics and infographics, along with graphic recording and running workshops on creative thinking and visual storytelling. They also make an ongoing webcomic called “The Flying Ship,” a queer fantasy adventure story inspired by Russian and Slavic folklore.

“Voyage De Gourmet is a colourful, fun-filled romp around the globe, filled with amazing food and loveable characters. Bon Appetite!” –Jem Milton

SEE WHAT CRITICS ARE SAYING!

Kirkus Reviews
Kirkus Reviews@KirkusReviews
Read More
“An endearing tale of food and camaraderie, served in an animated fashion.” -Kirkus Reviews
School Library Journal
School Library Journal
Read More
“Full of hilarious challenges, action-packed arguments, and a relatable (if not exaggerated) friendship debacle, this graphic novel is perfect for fans of Batter Royale and Chef’s Kiss.”
Gutternaut
Gutternaut@JacobDPalermo
Read More
“Voyage de Gourmet is one of those engagingly creative stories that really get into the humanity about connections.” -Jake Palermo

Trailer

Former BFFs Layne Green and Jang Mi Pipper are like water and oil– but can they come together and cook up the recipe for success? Check out our official trailer for Voyage De Gourmet below!

Sneak Peek!

Voyage De Gourmet is now available on the official Maverick website, and is available at your favorite bookstore, local comic shop, and digital comic reader!

Share:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Keep Reading

Ready to read our comics? New here? Register for free! Returning? Log in!

[nextend_social_login provider="google"]

JOIN THE CAVE!

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER FOR 20% OFF YOUR FIRST ORDER